Witches, Halloween – It's English Celtic History

30/09/2012 12:18

Please click on above underlined link to read my Spooky Article

 

The festival of "All Hallows Eve" or the more ancient named "Samhain" celebrates the end of the "lighter half" of the year and beginning of the "darker half", and is sometimes regarded as the "Celtic Briton's New Year". Halloween and other pagan festivals were celebrated by the Celtic Briton and Irish Tribes 2,000 years ago and over the centuries the festivals were renamed by the Catholic Church.

 

As a fan of English Traditions has made me a great fan of English Traditions and British history and the English Celtic story of Halloween.

 

The ancient Celtic Britons believed that the border between this world and the Otherworld became thin on Samhain, allowing spirits (both harmless and harmful) to pass through. The family's ancestors were honoured and invited home while harmful spirits were warded off. It is believed that the need to ward off harmful spirits led to the wearing of costumes and masks.

 

Their purpose was to disguise oneself as a harmful spirit and thus avoid harm. In Scotland the spirits were impersonated by young men dressed in white with masked, veiled or blackened faces. Samhain was also a time to take stock of food supplies and slaughter livestock for winter stores. Bonfires played a large part in the festivities.

 

All other fires were doused and each home lit their hearth from the bonfire. The bones of slaughtered livestock were cast into its flames. Sometimes two bonfires would be built side-by-side, and people and their livestock would walk between them as a cleansing ritual.

Sunset on Samhain is the beginning of the Celtic New Year. The old year has passed, the harvest has been gathered, cattle and sheep have been brought in from the fields, and the leaves have fallen from the trees. The earth slowly begins to die around us.

 

This is a good time for us to look at wrapping up the old and preparing for the new in our lives. Think about the things you did in the last twelve months. Have you left anything unresolved? If so, now is the time to wrap things up. Once you've gotten all that unfinished stuff cleared away, and out of your life, then you can begin looking towards the next year.

 

Another common practice was divination, which often involved the use of food and drink. The name 'Halloween' and many of its present-day traditions derive from the Old English mists of time. Halloween is not celebrated in all countries and regions of the world, and among those that do the traditions and importance of the celebration vary significantly.

 

When we English first arrived in Colonial America and the many other countries of the Commonwealth they brought with them the "All Hallows Eve" Celebration with the associated traditions ( Like Apple Dipping and Pumpkins ). During the following centuries we English had started to lose the traditions of Halloween ( Except by the Traditional Pagan followers ) until wartime Britain, when many American GI's based in England re-introduced the Halloween Celebrations to us British.

 

Halloween in the United States has had a significant impact on how the holiday is observed in other nations. This larger American influence, particularly in iconic and commercial elements, has extended to places such as South America, Europe, to Japan under the auspices of the Japanese Biscuit Association, and other parts of East Asia.

 

As so many Famous events happened and were created in England and the rest of the British Isles over the centuries, I thought it would be a good idea to tell the various stories in my various articles of the many English and British historical Icons from the Anglo Saxon times to present day England's current history.

 

My Supernatural Experiences

During my life here in England I have had various supernatural experiences which may be of interest to readers. I believe I am slightly psychic and below are just some of my supernatural experiences.

The first story I would like to tell concerns my early life in Portsmouth in 1966 when I was suffering from German Measles. At one stage during my suffering I remember floating above my bed and looking down on my fevered body. At the time, I thought this was normal and when I mentioned it to my parents I was told not to be silly.

The second story concerns my reincarnation experience. Up to the age of 5 years I used to get cramps in my back. I had flashbacks every time I got a back twinge, that I was fighting in the first world war and went over the trenches and was in no-mans land when I was shot in the back. I believe in the heat of battle many soldiers were shot by mistake by there own side and I believe I was one of them. The strange thing about this story, even at my very young age, I new and assumed that I had been born before and I just took it as normal that I was shot in the first world war.

The third story concerns my life in Gosport when I was 13 years old. One day my step mother and her friend went to a house contents sale where my step mother brought a silver covered bible. About a week later our TV went on the blink and a repairman was called in to sort out the problem.

The doorbell rang and at the door stood the tv repairman. He refused to enter the house because he felt an evil presence and he described and asked if there was a bible with silver cross on the cover.

When he was told that, yes it was a recent acquisition, the repairman told my step mother to burn the bible to cleanse the evil presence. This she did and when the TV repairman returned he told her the evil had gone. Months later she read in the paper that the TV repairman had been sacked for scaring customers with his psychic abilities.

The fourth story concerns my Motorbike accident, in North End, Portsmouth on Boxing Day 1979.

It was a cold frosty morning when I entered Portsmouth from the motorway at Hilsea, Portsmouth.

I was riding along at 30 miles per hour with the roads crisp and clear when from a side road this woman car driver just zoomed out without looking. I pulled on the brakes and the the bike skidded on some black ice. It was like slow motion, as the bike went down on to the tarmac and skidded towards a parked car. I had the time to decide when to push the bike away and dive to miss the lamppost. Luckily, I was well protected by my leathers and only had slight scratches. The police and ambulance arrived and gave blood and found to be in shock. When my dad collected me from hospital I mentioned how like slow motion the accident was. Alas, dad didn't want to know about the weird slow- mo.

The fifth story I have had includes the strange experience I had when I lived in southsea, England in 1981 when I went out to buy a paper. I was walking along the road, daydreaming, when for no reason I stopped, turned round and found a lass of about 16 years, with her grandmother, on the other side of the road, looking at me as if she knew me and as our eyes met it was like I had known her all my life. Her mother looked at her and then at me. This all lasted about 5 seconds but seemed minutes. I shook my head and realised I had never met the lass before and carried on walking. I believe in my passed life I knew her and she knew me and our subconscious knew each other. I have also been walking along when I have felt an itch in my back and looked up at a window and seen someone staring down at me. This has happened numerous times, sometimes so high up it was impossible for me to see subconsciously.

The sixth story concerns my sponsored sleepover at Portchester Castle. The Castle started to be built in 500 AD. It is a well-preserved example of a mainly Roman fortification, which lies on the northern shore of Portsmouth Harbour, approximately 6 miles north west of Portsmouth city itself on the southern English coast. Though in modern times this is a relatively urban area, the fortification is the oldest building in the region, and formed the traditional hub around which the village of Portchester and surrounding area were built.

Nick, Richard and I decided to join a sponsored sleepover for the Young Conservatives and we joined about a dozen members of the young conservatives outside Portchester Castle at 10-30pm on Hallows Eve in 1994. The Castle Caretaker met us outside the gate with the keys to lock the castle after we entered. The caretaker warned us to beware of the ghosts of Roman Soldiers that sometimes appear near the moat walkover. Some of the lasses had brought tents which we helped to set up prior to our evening vigil. It was a cold crisp winter's night and we were able to use the church to warm ourselves during the course of the night. At midnight Richard, Nick and I decided to take a tour around the castle. I led from the front as I was the only person who had remembered to bring torch ( newly brought for the occasion ). Imagine the scene, it was a cold crisp winter's night, pitch dark, with the three of us trying to find our way round the keep. Finally we arrived at the Moat Walkover. I invited Richard and Nick to go fist over the walkover but alas, they were slightly nervous and consequently yours truly had to go across first. As I walked over the walkway with my arm outstretched and the torch lighting the way, Nick and Richard decided to join me. The strange thing was that as we reached the end of the moat walkover my torch went out. Both Nick and Richard shouted for me to stop playing about. I tried to explain that it wasn't me. We decided to hurry away as quickly as possible and rushed back to the church.

Suffice to say I changed the batteries and the torch still didn't work. It later transpired that the bulb had blown. Talking to other people about the blown bulb it transpires that where there is a haunting, for some reason, bulbs explode for no apparent reason.

The seventh story concerns my late grandmother's death. One night in 1999 I was in bed, sleeping heavily, when for some reason I awoke at 3-10 am. I tried to get back to sleep but with no joy. I must admit I felt there was something wrong but I couldn't put my finger on the wrongness. At around 4 am my mother rang to let me know that NAN had died in the night. The really spooky thing is my NAN was estimated to have died at around 3 am. I believe when people die they visit family and friends to say goodbye and some people are psychic enough when asleep to talk to them. When awake any memory of this event is forgotten except by a few who have inklings that something had happened. I believe I had that experience and I was visited by my NAN.

English Witch Trials from 995 AD to 1701 AD and 1944

My name is Paul Hussey and I was born in Portsmouth, England in 1961, the same day as my older brother but a year later. As a fan of Portsmouth History I thought readers may be interested in the story of Helen Duncan who became the last convicted witch in England and was arrested in Portsmouth in 1944 and the many other Witch Trials from our English History.

Mrs Duncan, a Scotswoman who travelled the country holding seances, was one of Britain's best-known mediums, reputedly numbering Winston Churchill and George VI among her clients, when she was arrested in January 1944 by two naval officers at a seance in Portsmouth. The military authorities, secretly preparing for the D-day landings and then in a heightened state of paranoia, were alarmed by reports that she had disclosed - allegedly via contacts with the spirit world - the sinking of two British battleships long before they became public. The most serious disclosure came when she told the parents of a missing sailor that his ship, HMS Barham, had sunk. It was true, but news of the tragedy had been suppressed to preserve morale. 

Desperate to silence the apparent leak of state secrets, the authorities charged Mrs Duncan with conspiracy, fraud, and with witchcraft under an act dating back to 1735 - the first such charge in over a century. At the trial, only the "black magic" allegations stuck, and she was jailed for nine months at Holloway women's prison in north London. Churchill, then prime minister, visited her in prison and denounced her conviction as "tomfoolery". In 1951, he repealed the 200-year-old act, but her conviction stood.

As an addendum to this story I thought it would be interesting to list some of the witch trial stories  from 995 AD to 1701.

  • 995 AD  London, A woman and her son were tried for driving stakes into an image of a man. She was taken and drowned at London Bridge, while the son escaped and became outlawed.
  • 1177  Eleanor of Aquitaine  Queen of England. Duchess of Aquitaine. Eleanor and four witches purportedly poisoned Rosamond Clifford.
  • 1222 England, Oxford A young man and two women were brought before the Archbishop of Canterbury, Stephen Langton for crucifying the boy and displaying the stigmata.
  • 1222 England  A Jewish Necromancer was accused of wrapping a boy in the skin of a dead man for divination.
  • 1279 England, York  John de Kerneslawe killed a witch that had entered his house.  The local clergy had her body burned.
  • 1286 England, York Darel, Godfrey m A Cistercian monk of Rievaulx was reported to the Archbishop of York as a practitioner of Witchcraft.
  • 1289-90 England de Stratton, Adam m Chancellor of the Exchequer. Arrested and tried for embezzling, extortion, and sorcery.
  • 1301-3 England  Langton, Walter m Bishop of Coventry. Tried by ecclesiastical court for diabolism and acquitted.
  • 1302 England, Exeter 1 Mody, John m Trial for defamation; Mody had called Reginald Kene's wife a 'wicked witch and thief'.
  • 1311 England, London  Investigation by Bishop Baldock of sorcery, enchantment, magic, divination, and invocation.
  • 1314/15 England Tannere, John m (Aka John Canne) Claimed to be the son of Edward I. Hanged for attempt to gain crown through diabolical aid; had served devil more than three years.
  • 1324 England, Coventry Nottingham, John of m (aka Master John) Died in custody of witchcraft.
  • 1325 English, Coventry Robert le Mareschal m He and his lodger Master John of Nottingham and 27 clients (The Burghers of Coventry) were charged before a secular court with employing him and another "necromancer" to use sorcery in an attempt on life of King Edward II, the Despensers, and several other officials.
  • 1325 England, Coventry Acquitted. Charged before a secular court with employing him and another "necromancer" to use sorcery in an attempt on life of King Edward II, the Despensers, and several other officials.
  • 1330 England Edmund Earl of Kent. Edward was condemned for obtaining important information from demon, through mediation of friar.
  • 1331 England, Southwark  A man tried by royal court for sorcery. along with with a client and his associate. The subjects claimed to have used image magic only to obtain friendship but the jury determined that intent was murder.
  • 1336 England Altefax, William m Pope Benedict XII wrote to the Bishop of Paris to have William Altefax, nigromanticus de Anglia and with him, his plates (Laminas) that he used in his magical operations.
  • 1337 England, Hatfield Man tried by manorial court for failure to deliver devil as arranged in commercial transaction; case dismissed.
  • 1366 England A certain carpenter died after final reconciliation to the Church, having lived for 15 years with a pact with the devil; There were no recorded judicial proceedings.
  • 1371 England, Southwark, Man tried by royal court for invocation; possessed book for experimenta and Saracen's head for enclosure of demon; disclaimed use of head; He was arrested for possessing a Grimoire, a skull and the head of a corpse, and was released on a promise to never again perform magical rituals.
  • 1376 England A Friar of St. Albans associated with Alice Perrers tried by ecclesiastical court for love magic and image magic directed at king Edward III. (n.b. Although Kieckhefer identifies the friar as Dominican, the monastary at St. Albans was Benedictine.)
  • 1382 England, London 1 Berewold, Robert m Pilloried for pretending to practice the "Art Magic".
  • 1382 England, London 1 Northamptone, William m Pilloried for pretending to practice the "Art Magic".
  • 1385 England, London 1 Brugges, John m Chaplain. One of 2 men tried by ecclesiastical court for magic. They were imprisoned by the Bishop of London "until the church was satisfied".
  • 1388 England, London 1 Tresilian, Sir Robert m Condemned by the Merciless Parliament for other reasons. He was also found to have been practicing invocation.
  • 1390 England, London 1 Berking, John m Arrested for soothsaying, he was sentenced to an hour in the pillory, two weeks' imprisonment, and banishment from the city.
  • 1401 England Lincolnshire 1 Smith, John m Tried for using divination to track a thief.
  • 1419 England 1 Joan of Navarre  The dowager Queen of England. Joan was accused by Henry V of attempting to kill him by sorcery. Joan, and a clerical accomplice are imprisoned.
  • 1419 England 1 Friar Randolph m Imprisoned.(Joan's Cleric).
  • 1426 England Plus unspecified number of associates accused of sorcery (illness and attempt at death), thus provoking inquiry at royal direction.
  • 1430 England, London Imprisoned for attempt on king's life through sorcery.
  • 1432 England, London 1 Jordemaine, Margery  "The Witch of Eye", a noted diviner. Arrested with two priests. Released on bail, and the charges dropped.
  • 1432-43 England A priest accused before the Court of Chancery that he had injured a man's body with sorcery.
  • 1435 England, Durham 1 ??? f Trial for defamation before ecclesiastical court; 3 men had accused woman of causing impotence through sorcery; woman absolved in an ecclesiastical court.
  • 1441 England  Cobham, Eleanor  (Duchess of Gloucester, Wife of Humphrey) Given penance by secular authorities for sorcery in seeking the death of Henry VI. She had the help of Margery Jourdemaine, and two noted Oxford Scholars, one an astrologer, and the other a physician. They also wanted to ensure an heir. According to Wedek, a Treasury of Witchcraft, she was banished for life to the Isle of Man.
  • 1441 England 1 Southwell, Thomas m Tried for Treason, using sorcery in seeking the death of Henry VI.
  • 1441  England, Smithfield 1 Jordemaine, Margery  "The Witch of Eye", a noted diviner. Burned by secular authorities for Treason.
  • 1441 England, London 1 Bolingbroke, Roger m Aka Roger Whiche.  A Clerk. Hanged, drawn and quartered at Tyburn by secular authorities for Treason, using sorcery in seeking the death of Henry VI.
  • 1444 England, London Man placed on pillory by secular court for invocation, dealing with a 'wycckyd spyryte'.
  • 1446 England, Durham Tried as sorceresses; had allegedly obtained husbands for widows; allowed purgation.
  • 1447 or 1448 England, Durham Woman tried by ecclesiastical court as enchanter (incantatrix).
  • 1450 England, Durham Woman tried by ecclesiastical court for sorcery.
  • 1451 or 1452 England, Durham Tried by ecclesiastical court for magic.
  • 1452 England, Durham Trial in ecclesiastical court for defamation; one woman had accused another of sortilegium, and had spoken of a certain chaplain's profligate infatuation with her (suggestion of love magic?).
  • 1457 England, Hertford Man abjured of necromancy and heresy.
  • 1465 England, Norfolk Tried by royal court for invocation to find treasure.
  • 1466 England, Ely Man given public and private penance by bishop for invocation.
  • 1467 England Byg, William m Convicted of crystal gazing to locate thieves had to appear in public with a scroll on his head.
  • 1470 England Trial for defamation before royal court; a man had accused the Duchess of Bedford of image magic.
  • 1476 England, London  Trial for defamation in secular court; man had defamed neighbors in matters of sorcery.
  • 1480-1515c England Woman tried by Court of Chancery for sorcery.
  • 1480-1515c England, St David's 3 women (Tanglost and 2 others) tried by Court of Chancery for image magic.
  • 1480-1515c England, Southwark  Woman tried by Court of Chancery for image magic.
  • 1481 England, London Woman tried by commissary's court for love magic.
  • 1481 England, York Man tried by ecclesiastical court for incantation.
  • 1483, June England  Woodville, Elizabeth f Dowager Queen of England. Tried by ecclesiastical court for sorcery (alleged harm to Richard III).
  • 1483, June England 1 Beaufort, Margaret Countess of Richmond, Henry VII's mother. Tried by ecclesiastical court for sorcery (alleged harm to Richard III).
  • 1483, June England 1 Morton, Dr. John m Bishop of Ely. Tried by ecclesiastical court for sorcery (alleged harm to Richard III).
  • 1490 England, London  Woman tried by commissary for image magic.
  • 1492 England, London Trial for fraudulent love magic; client sentenced to public penance by ecclesiastical court, and man claiming to serve as agent for magician ordered by court to restore goods given in payment.
  • 1493 England, London Woman tried by ecclesiastical court for weather magic, killing by incantation, divination, and other offenses.
  • 1496 (6/19) England, London Kendal, John m Pardoned. Grand Prior of the Order of St. John of Rhodes is one of three men accused of conspiracy by their French agent, Bernard de Vignolles, of attempt (framed at Rome) on lives of King Henry VII, his children, his mother, and certain of his agents and followers, through use of magical substances.
  • 1496 England, London Thonge, Sir John m Knight of the Order of St. John of Rhodes (and John Kendal's nephew) is one of three men accused of conspiracy by their French agent, Bernard de Vignolles.
  • 1496 England, London Horsey, William m Archdeacon of London is one of three men accused of conspiracy by their French agent, Bernard de Vignolles.
  • 1499 England, 'Belynges Parva' Woman tried by ecclesiastical court for sorcery (killing); allowed purgation.
  • 1499 England, 'Rushbrok' Man tried by ecclesiastical court for pact with devil.
  • 1499 England, Winchester Man tried by ecclesiastical court for invocation.
  • 1521 England  Duke of Buckingham m Tried for attempting to learn the king's lifespan by divination.
  • 1525 England  Acquitted for murder by use of a waxen figure.
  • 1532 England 1 Neville, Sir William m Tried for attempting to learn the king's lifespan by divination.
  • 1522 England, Kent Barton, Elizabeth  Hanged? "The Maid of Kent" was tried for seeing The Virgin Mary at a Shrine, who purportedly cured her, and later visions that opposed the Marriage of Henry VIII. Barton had been put up to it by priests who wanted to build a shrine.
  • 1541 England  Lord Hungerford Beheaded for attempting to learn the king's lifespan by divination.
  • 1544 England Cross, Elizabeth?  "The Girl in the hole in the wall"? Claimed clairvoyance.
  • 1546 England  Neville, Henry m Tried for attempting to learn the king's lifespan by divination.
  • 1560 England 8 Men, including 2 in orders confessed to conjuration, and were released after swearing to abstain from such acts in the future.
  • 1562 England Douglas, Lady Margaret Countess of Lennox Tried for attempting to learn the Queen's lifespan by divination.
  • 1564 England, Essex, Clch Lowys, Elizabeth Assizes 7/21 (aka Howes), Elizabeth Convicted and sentenced to hang. She pleaded Pregnancy. In March 1565, she was found to be not pregnant, and the final disposition is unknown.
  • 1565 England, York More, Edward m Given Penance. Grandson of Thomas More.
  • 1565 England, Kent Byden, Joan f Hanged 1566 England, Chelmsford 1 Waterhouse, Agnes Hanged. She comes from Hatfield Peverell, Essex. A 63 year old widow, charged with witching William Fynee  First use of Spectral evidence?
  • 1566  England, Chelmsford Waterhouse, Joanf Acquitted. She comes from Hatfield Peverell, Essex. Aged 18, she was accused of witching 12 year old Agnes Brown.
  • 1566 England, Chelmsford Francis, Elizabeth Jailed. She comes from Hatfield Peverell, Essex. Wife of Chistopher Francis, charged with witching the infant child of William Auger. She was sentenced to one year's imprisonment.
  • 1566 England, Dorset, Walsh, John – Hanged.
  • 1566  England, York Stabler, Richard m Dismissed on Bond. Physician.
  • 1566 England Chelmsford Francis Elizabeth f Jailed. She comes from Hatfield Peverell, Essex. Wife of Chistopher Francis, charged with witching Mary Cocke. She was sentenced to one year's inprisonment, and four appearances in the Pillory.
  • 1571 England, York  Carter, Peter  Dismissed on Bond.
  • 1571 England, York  More, Edward  Given Penance.  Grandson of Thomas More.
  • 1572 England, York, Wyerhorne, Roger – Hanged.
  • 1574 England, Barking  Arnold (fnu)  Hanged.
  • 1574 England, Agnes Bridges  and Rachael Pindar  counterfeited possession to accusse.
  • 1574 England  Chaundeler, Alice  Hanged.
  • 1579  Mother of Ellen Smith, Hanged  at Chelmsford.
  • 1575 England, Kent Mildred Nerrington accused an old woman of Witchcraft.
  • 1578 England, Dorset, Woman Hanged.
  • 1578 England, Essex Stanton, Margery  Found Guilty of bewitching a gelding 1578 England, York 1 Milner, Janet f Accused by Robert Singleton, he was made to apologize.
  • 1578 England, York  Webster, Margaret  - Hanged.
  • 1579  England, Abington  Stiles, Elizabeth  Hanged.
  • 1579  England, Abington  Dutten, Mother (fnu)  Hanged.
  • 1579 England, Abington  Devell, Mother (fnu)  Hanged.
  • 1579  England, Abington  Margaret, Mother (fnu)  Hanged.
  • 1579  England, Smith, Ellen  Hanged.
  • 1579  England, Nokes, Alice Hanged.
  • 1579  England, Stanton, Margery  Aquitted.
  • 1579  England, Chelmsford  Francis, Elizabeth  Hanged. She comes from Hatfield Peverell, Essex. Wife of Chistopher Francis, charged with witching Alice Poole.
  • 1579 England, Flintshire Elizabeth Orton counterfeited possession to accusse.
  • 1582 England, Kings Lynn  Gabley,  Executed.
  • 1582 England, Durham  Laws, Allison Sentenced to do penance.
  • 1582 England, St. Osyth  Kempe, Ursula  Hanged after a trial held at Chelmsford. St. Osyth is sometimes referred to as St. Osees.
  • 1582 England, St. Osyth  Bennet, Elizabeth, Hanged for Bewitching to Death. Betrayed by Ursula Kempe.
  • 1582 England, St. Osyth  Newman, Alice Betrayed by Ursula Kempe. Convicted but reprieved.
  • 1582 England, St. Osyth  Glascock, Alice Convicted but reprieved.
  • 1582 England, St. Osyth  Turner, Joan  Convicted but reprieved. Returned to Prison for a year.
  • 1582 England, St. Osyth 1 Hunt, Alice f Betrayed by Ursula Kempe and Margery Sammon. Acquitted.
  • 1582 England, St. Osyth  Sammon, Margery  Betrayed by Ursula Kempe and Alice Hunt. She was the daughter of a confirmed witch.  Acquitted.
  • 1582 England, St. Osyth  Pechey, Joan  Betrayed by Alice Hunt and confirmed by Margery Sammon.  Acquitted.
  • 1582 England, St. Osyth  Heard, Agnes  Acquitted.
  • 1582 England, St. Osyth Grevell, Margaret Acquitted.
  • 1582 England, St. Osyth  Ewstace, Elizabeth  Acquitted.
  • 1582 England, Essex, Walton  Robinson, Joan – Hanged.
  • 1583 England, Kent  Symons, Margaret – Hanged.
  • 1585 England, London  Hacket, Margaret  Hanged at Tyburn.
  • 1589  England, Chelmsford  Cony, Joan  Hanged within two hours after her sentencing. (aka Cunny) Unwed mother of Avice, and grandmother of her accuser.
  • 1592 England, Middlesex  Atkins, Mother.
  • 1593  England, Warboys, The three members of the Samuels family (Father, Mother, and Daughter) are Hanged based on the word of 5 hysterical girls. This may have helped provide some impetus on the passage of the 1604 Anti-Witchcraft Bill.  N.b. One of the accusations was that Lady Cromwell, grandmother of Oliver Cromwell was killed by witchcraft.
  • 1595  England, Brayneford  Calles, Helen, Executed.
  • 1595 England, Barnett  Newell, John  Executed.
  • 1596 England  Cockie, Isabel  Burnt at a cost of 105 s. 4 p.
  • 1597 England, Derby  Wright, Elizabeth  Alice Goodridge's mother. She was convicted, and her disposition is not known.
  • 1597 England, Derby 1 Goodridge, Alice  Aged 60, Convicted on the testimony of Thomas Darling "The Burton Boy" of Burton-upon-Trent. She was sentenced to a years imprisonment, and died in jail. Thomas Darling later retracted his evidence.
  • 1579 England, Nottingham William Somers, The Nottingham Boy, counterfeited possession to accuse various people at the insistence of John Darrell. Apparently in all cases, Darrell confessed the deception during the trials.
  • 1599 England, London Kerke, Anne  Hanged at Tyburn England.
  • 1599 England, Lancashire,  Johnson, Margaret  Charged with conversing with the Devil.
  • 1600 England, York  Cleane, Agnes.
  • 1603 England, Yorkshire  Pannel, Mary,Executed.
  • 1604 England, Berkshire  Pepwell, Agnes  Pepwell - Acquitted. Anne Gunter, a 14 year old girl, countefeiting a demonic possession. N.b. that this was also about the time that the harsher laws of James I against witchcraft were being enacted.
  • 1604 England, Berkshire  Pepwell, Mary  Acquitted. (See Agnes Pepwell).
  • 1604 England, Berkshire Gregory, Elizabeth  Acquitted. (See Agnes Pepwell).
  • 1606 England, Hertford  Harrisson, Joanna  Hanged.
  • 1606 England, Hertford  Harrison Daughter of Joanna Harrison. Hanged.
  • 1607 England, Derbyshire  "Several" Hanged.
  • 1612 England, York  Preston, Jennet  Acquitted.
  • 1612  England, Northampton  Barber, Mary  Hanged.
  • 1612  England, Northampton  Browne, Agnes  Hanged.
  • 1612 England, Northampton  Vaughan, Joan  Hanged.
  • 1612 England, Northampton  Bill, Arthur m Hanged.
  • 1612 England, Northampton  Jenkinson, Helen Hanged.
  • 1612 England, Lancaster  Bierley, Ellen Accused by Grace Sowerbutts, age 14. Case dismissed.
  • 1612 England, Lancaster  Bierley, Jennet  Accused by Grace Sowerbutts, age 14. Case dismissed.
  • 1612 England, Lancaster  Southworth, Jane  Accused by Grace Sowerbutts, age 14. Case dismissed.
  • 1612 England, Lancaster  Bullock, Jane  "Of Mossend Farm, Newchurch" – Hanged.
  • 1612 England, Lancaster  Bullock, John m Son of Jane Bullock. Hanged.
  • 1612  England, Lancaster  Device, Alison Daughter of Elizabeth Device. Tried.  Hanged.
  • 1612  England, Lancaster  Device, Elizabeth  "Squintin' Lizzie". Daughter of "Mother Demdike". Tried. Hanged.
  • 1612 England, Lancaster  Device, James m Son of Elizabeth Device. Dimwitted. Tried. Hanged.
  • 1612 England, Lancaster  Device, Jennet Daughter of Elizabeth Device. 9 years old. Tried. Released.
  • 1612 England, Lancaster Grey, Alice f"Of Colne" Tried. Acquitted.
  • 1612 England, Lancaster  Hewitt, Katherine "Old Mouldheels". Hanged.
  • 1612  England, Lancaster 1 Howgate, Christopher m Son of "Mother Demdike".
    Tried. Released.
  • 1612 England, Lancaster  Nutter, Alice f "Of Roughlee" Hanged. She may have been simply a Catholic caught in the net.
  • 1612 England, Lancaster  Preston, Jennet  Hanged for causing the death of Thomas Lister of Westby Hall.
  • 1612 England, Lancaster  Pearson, Margaret Pilloried for a year.
  • 1612 England, Lancaster  Redfearne, Anne  Daughter of Anne Whittle. Interrogated & Confessed  Tried Hanged.
  • 1612  England, Lancaster  Robey, Isobel  "Of Widness" Hanged.
  • 1612  England, Lancaster  Southernes, Elizabeth  "Mother Demdike" "Of Malkin Tower". Interrogated, confessed. died in Prison.
  • 1612 England, Lancaster  Whittle, Anne  "Old Chattox" Interrogated on 2 Apr, Tried. Hanged.
  • 1612 England, Lancaster  Whittle, Bessie  "Old Chattox" Daughter of Anne Whittle. Tried, released.
  • 1613 England, Bedford  Sutton (mother)  Hanged. Beaten senseless and "Floated".
  • 1613 England, Bedford  Sutton, Mary (daughter)  Hanged.
  • 1614 England  Ellson, Richard m Richard Moore is tried for accusing Richard Ellson of Witchcraft.
  • 1615 England, Middlesex  Hunt, Joan  Hanged.
  • 1616 England, Kings Lynn  Smith, Mary  Hanged.
  • 1616 England, Middlesex Rutter, Elizabeth  Hanged.
  • 1616 England, Leicester Accused by John Smith, the Leicester Boy. Hanged.
  • 1616 England, Leicester  released,  died in jail. Accused by John Smith, the Leicester Boy.
  • 1616 England, Enfield  Berrye, Agnes  Hanged.
  • 1618 England, Lincoln  Flower, Joan  Died before trial.
  • 1618-9 England, Lincoln  Flower, Phillippa  Hanged.
  • 1618-9 England, Lincoln  Flower, Margaret  Hanged.
  • 1619 England, Leicester  Green, Ellen  Hanged
  • 1619 England, Leicester  Baker, Anne  Hanged.
  • 1619 England, Leicester  Willimot, Joan  Hanged.
  • 1620 England, Stafford  Clark, Jane Accused by "The Bilson Boy", William Perry. The charges were eventually dropped.
  • 1621 England, S. Perrot  Guppy, Joan Accused by Edmond Fairfax for bewitching his children. The evidence was insufficient, and they were released.
  • 1621 England, Yorkshire Fletcher, Elizabeth Accused with five others by Edmond Fairfax for bewitching his children. The evidence was insufficient, and they were released. Elizabeth Fletcher was the daughter of Mother Foster.
  • 1626 England  Bull, Edward  Denounced by Edward Dinham.
  • 1626 England Greedy, Joan denounced by Edward Dinham.
  • 1628 England, London  Lambe, Dr. John  Not Tried, but beaten to death by a mob at St. Paul's Cross after he fell from the Duke of Buckingham's favour.
  • 1630 England, Lancaster Utley, Hanged.
  • 1630 England, Sandwich, Hanged.
  • 1631 England, Taunton, Edward Bull, Hanged.
  • 1633 England, Lancaster, 17 convicted, but all later reprieved by the King (including Mary Spencer and Jennet Device).
  • 1634 England Three of the accused (by Edmund Robinson) died in prison before the swindle was revealed.
  • 1640 England, London, Dr  Lamb,  Stoned to death by a mob at St. Paul's Cross (and probably confused with 1628, although the date *is* given several times in Robbins).
  • 1643 England, Newbury Shot by parliamentary forces as she was walking along the surface of a river.
  • 1644  England  Wanderson, (wife 1)  Executed.
  • 1644  England  Wanderson, (wife 2)  Executed.
  • 1645  England, Chelmsford  19 were Hanged on evidence of  by the Witch Finder General Matthew Hopkins (including the Manningtree Witches).
  • 1645 England, Chelmsford Clarke, Elizabeth a one legged old woman. Witch Finder General Matthew Hopkins' 1st "Witch". Hanged, but not before betraying five others.
  • 1645 England, Chelmsford  West, Rebecca  Native of Colchester and daughter of an accused witch. She confessed to having married the Devil.
  • 1645  England, Chelmsford West, Anne  Native of Colchester and daughter of an accused witch.
  • 1645 England, Chelmsford  Mayers, Bridget  Wife of a Seaman, plead Not Guilty.
  • 1645 England, Chelmsford  5 were found Guilty, but reprieved.
  • 1645 England, Chelmsford 8 were remanded to the next session of the Assizes (4 were still in jail three years later, 4 (aged 88, 65, 60 and 40) died in prison before the sessions opened).
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds,  Lowes, John  "of Branson". Hanged. A 70 year old parson.  Tried by Witch Finder General Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645  England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds, Cooper, Thomas Edward m Hanged. Tried by Witch Finder General Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds,  Cooper, Mary  Hanged.Tried by Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds,  Bacon, Mary  Hanged. Tried by Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds,  Alderman, Anne  Hanged. Tried by Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds,  Morris, Rebecca  Hanged. Tried by Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds,  Fuller, Mary  Hanged. Tried by Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds, Clowes, Mary  Hanged. Tried by Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds,  Sparham, Margery  Hanged. Tried by Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds, Fooley, Katherine  Hanged. Tried by Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds, Spinlow, Sarah  Hanged. Tried by Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds, Limstead, Jane Hanged. Tried by Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds, Wright, Anne  Hanged. Tried by Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds, Smith, Mary  Hanged. Tried by Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds, Rivers, Jane  Hanged. Tried by Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds, manners, Susan  Hanged. Tried by Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds, Skinner, Mary Hanged. Tried by Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Suffolk, Bury St. Edmonds, Leech, Anne  Hanged. Tried by Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Kent, Faversham, Williford, Joan Hanged. By Witch Finder General Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1645 England, Kent, Faversham,  Cariden, Joan  Hanged.
  • 1645 England, Kent, Faversham, Holt, Jane Hanged.
  • 1646 England, Norfolk, Woman Accused by Witch Finder General Matthew Hopkins & Co.
  • 1646 England, Suffolk, It is estimated that there were 124 people accused by Witch Finder General Matthew Hopkins & Co., of whom 68 were hanged.
  • 1646 England, Bedford, Woman Accused by Witch Finder General Matthew Hopkins & Co.
  • 1646 England, Cambridge Woman Accused by Witch Finder General Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1646 England, Northampton Woman Accused by Witch Finder General Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1646 England, Huntingdon Woman Accused by Witch Finder General Matthew Hopkins.
  • 1648 England, Norwich, 2 Women Executed.
  • 1649 England, St. Albans, Palmer, John  Hanged. He named 14 accomplices.
  • 1649 England, St. Albans, Bychance, Mary Hanged.
  • 1649 England, St. Albans, Widow Palmer Hanged.
  • 1649 England, St. Albans, Norton. Hanged.
  • 1649 England, St. Albans, Salmon, John (Sr) Hanged.
  • 1649 England, St. Albans, Salmon, Joseph d.1684.
  • 1649 England, St. Albans, Salmon, Judith d.1692 .
  • 1649 England, St. Albans, Salmon, John d.1688.
  • 1649 England, St. Albans, Lamen, Mary  d.1706.
  • 1649 England, St. Albans, Lamen, John (jr) – hanged.
  • 1649 England, St. Albans, Lamen, Mary  – hanged.
  • 1649 England, St. Albans,  Lamen, Joan – hanged.
  • 1649 England, St. Albans, Weston, Mrs Mayer – hanged.
  • 1649 England, St. Albans, Smith, Sarah – hanged.
  • 1649 England, St. Albans, Smith, Anne – hanged.
  • 1649 England, St. Albans, Knott, Elizabeth – hanged.
  • 1649 England, Newcastle 14  Hanged.
  • 1649 England, Newcastle Bulmer, Matthew Hanged.
  • 1649-1658 England, 3-4000 Purportedly killed during Cromwell's tenure.
  • 1650 England, London Allen, Joan Hanged.
  • 1651 England, London  Bodenham, Anne Hanged. "Dr. Lamb's Darling".
  • 1652 England, Kent, Maidstone, Wright, Mildred Hanged.
  • 1652 England, Kent, Maidstone,  Wilson, Anne Hanged.
  • 1652 England, Kent, Maidstone, Reade, Mary Hanged.
  • 1652 England, Kent, Maidstone, Ashby, Anne Hanged
  • 1652 England, Kent, Maidstone,  Martyn, Anne Hanged.
  • 1652 England, Kent, Maidstone,  Browne, Mary Hanged.
  • 1652 England, Kent, Maidstone,  Hynes, Elizabeth Hanged.
  • 1652 England, Durham, Adamson, Francis Executed.
  • 1652 England, Durham,  Powle,  Executed.
  • 1652 England, Worcester,  Huxley, Catherine Hanged.
  • 1652 England, London Peterson, Joan Hanged at Tyburn "The Witch of Wapping".
  • 1652 England, London Sawyer, Elizabeth  Hanged at Tyburn.
  • 1653 England, London  Newman, Elizabeth Executed at Whitechapel.
  • 1654 England, Ipswich Lakeland, Mother Burned (for the minor treason of murdering her husband).
  • 1655 England, Bury St Edmonds Boram, Hanged. Mother.
  • 1655 England, Bury St Edmonds, Boram,Hanged. Daughter.
  • 1658 England  Brooks, Jane  Hanged.
  • 1658-9 England, Norwich Oliver, Mary  Burned (for the minor treason of murdering her husband).
  • 1658 England, Salisbury, Orchard, Executed.
  • 1660 England, Cambridge, Young girl interrograted by the scholar Henry More. Outcome unknown, date unknown.
  • 1660 England, Home Circuit Neville, Joan Hanged.
  • 1663 England, Taunton Cox, Julian  Hanged.
  • 1664 England, Bury St Edmonds,  Cullender, Rose  Hanged. From Lowestoft, Suffolk.
  • 1664 England, Bury St Edmonds, Duny, Amy  Hanged. From Lowestoft, Suffolk.
  • 1664 England, Taunton  Style, Elizabeth  died in prison.
  • 1668 England, Norfolk Banister, Mary  Charges dropped.
  • 1674 England, Northhampton,  Foster, Anne  Hanged (For burning barns).
  • 1675 England, Chester, Baguley, Mary  Hanged.
  • 1682 England, Exeter,  Lloyd, Temperance Hanged. Modern Bideford is in Devonshire.
  • 1682 England, Exeter,  Edwards, Susanna Hanged. Modern Bideford is in Devonshire.
  • 1682 England, Exeter  Trembles, Mary  Hanged. Modern Bideford is in Devonshire.
  • 1684 England, Exeter Molland, Alice  Hanged.
  • 1691 England, Frome, Somerset, Acquitted by Justice Sir John Holt, on charges of bewitching Mary Hill, a young girl.Died before her trial.
  • 1693 England 1 Chambers,  "Widow"  Died in prison as a result of torture by "walking".
  • 1694 England, Ipswich,  Elnore, Margaret  Acquitted by Justice Sir John Holt for having accepted familiars from her grandmother, herself hanged for witchcraft; having witch's marks on her body, and giving lice to her neighbors.
  • 1694 England, Bury St Edmonds, Munnings, "Mother"  Acquitted by Justice Sir John Holt on charges of prognostication causing a death; or for casting a spell to cause the death of her landlord. She was also accused of having a familiar imp in the shape of a pole cat, and two black and white imps in the shape of balls of wool.
  • 1695 England, Launceston, Cornwall,  Guy, Mary Acquitted by Justice Holt on charges of prognostication causing a death.
  • 1696 England, Exeter, Horner, Elizabeth  Acquitted by Justice Holt on charges of prognostication causing a death.
  • 1701 England, Southwark  Moredike, Sarah Acquitted by Justice Holt, her accuser, Richard Hathaway, was jailed.

Please visit my Funny Animal Art Prints Collection @ https://www.fabprints.com

 

My other website is called Directory of British Icons: https://fabprints.webs.com

 

The Chinese call Britain 'The Island of Hero's' which I think sums up what we British are all about. We British are inquisitive and competitive and are always looking over the horizon to the next adventure and discovery.

Copyright © 2008-2012 Paul Hussey. All Rights Reserved.